Mentoring Award

The Mentoring Award aknowledges the importance of mentors to professional psychologists.
This award will be given to an individual(s) who:
  1. Has been instrumental in aiding psychologists to succeed in their independent practices  
  2. Has mentored early career psychologists 
  3. Has mentored graduate psychology students

Nominations may be made by one person and letters of support from others will be considered in selecting the awardee.

Current Recipient

Carol Falender
 is the recipient of this year’s Mentoring Award.

Carol Falender  is a nationally and internationally recognized consultant, lecturer, trainer, workshop presenter, and mentor on clinical supervision, competency-based approach to supervision, and ethics of supervision. She has been the Director of Training and Research at Saint John’s Medical Center. Carol is presently chair of the APA Board of Educational Affairs Supervision Task Force, Consulting Editor for Training and Education in Professional Psychology, and chair of the CE Committee of CPA. Carol is highly published in over 50 journals, including the areas of education, supervision and training. In 2015, she was the presenter for an APA Psychotherapy Supervision Video Series. Among her recognitions, Carol has been honored with a 2014 APA Presidential Citation for innovative contributions to the theory and practice of clinical supervision, 2013 recipient of the LA Psychological Association Distinguished Service to the Profession of Psychology, and Silver Psi Award from the CPA for Outstanding Service.

(Award statements by June W.J. Ching, Ph.D., ABPP — 2016 Awards Committee Chair) 


Award History — Distinguished Public Service Award     
  • 2007 Kenneth Pope
  • 2008 Frank Froman
  • 2009 Steven Walfish
  • 2010 Gordon Herz
  • 2011 Michael Schwartz
  • 2012 Laura S Brown
  • 2013 Jeffrey Barnett
  • 2014 Armand Cerbone
  • 2015 Lisa R. Grossman
  • 2016 Carol Falender