Lifetime Achievement Award

Current Recipient

Stanley Graham is the recipient of this year’s Lifetime Acxhievement Award.

Over the course of his career, Stanley Graham has been a trailblazer, model psychologist, and renowned scientist, educator and clinician who has provided lasting positive effects for the profession and the public. Most notably, Stanley was instrumental in founding the Division of Psychologists in Independent Practice (42), and served as the Division’s first President, and of Division 29 (Society for the Advancement of Psychotherapy). He served as President of the APA and President of the NY State Psychological Association. He played a critical role in the development and evolution of the Committee for the Advancement of Professional Practice, the Practice Directorate. Stanley served twelve terms as Representative on APA’s Council (COR). In recognition of his contributions, he was the recipient of the APF’s Gold Medal for Lifetime Achievement in The Practice of Psychology. Academically, Stanley has served as an Associate and Senior Research Scientist, and as Chair of the Psychology Department of the NY State Institute of Psychobiologic Studies. He has authored 37 professional publications and has made over 100 presentations at APA and State Associations. Stanley now serves as Distinguished Research Professor at the California School of Professional Psychology at Alliant University. 

(Award statements by June W.J. Ching, Ph.D., ABPP — 2016 Awards Committee Chair) 


Award History — Lifetime Achievement Award
  • 2016 Stanley Graham